Earning Badges

Our Head of Middle School, Chip Houston, issued a blogging challenge to the whole school faculty.  We were to blog 10 times in 12 days.  I’ve made it and earned a blogger badge! I didn’t think I’d really care about the badge, but I realized I do care.  It’s like the badges on my Fitbit.  At first I thought they were silly.  Then, I wanted more and more badges.  One time, after a big hike at Lake Tahoe and getting 125 flights of stairs, I was determined to get the next badge for stairs.  I hiked up out of the parking lot to the road so I’d get more flights of stairs.  My hubby drove the car alongside me in case I decided I was done.  The park ranger stopped to make sure I was ok and that my hubby wasn’t a creeper! ha! Then, when we got back to the hotel, I had surpassed the 150 flights and was so close to the next one, that I walked the stairs up to my room.  All to get to the next badge level.

I’m now wondering how badging impacts students.  Do they care? Do they want badges like I want badges? Do you have to be a competitive person to want a badge? Because, I’m a pretty competitive person.

Thanks, Chip, for inspiring me & challenging me to blog!  I’ve learned a lot about myself and now have archived some important learning for my teaching.

One thought on “Earning Badges

Leave a Reply

